Augustus (San Antonio)

Price: $300.00


My name is Augustus, but my foster mom and dad call me Gus.  The vet thinks I’m about 5 or 6 years old.  I am a very loving boy but I like to run.  I’ve gone running with my foster mom but she doesn’t take me out a lot because I lost a lot of weight while I was “lost”.  I am starting to eat but I like my foster mom to stay near by until I finish my food.  I think I just need some positive feedback.  Once mom tells me ‘good boy” I go back to eating.  My foster mom thinks I got lost because I love to run.  It took me a few weeks but now I don’t just take off.  I just need to be reminded not to stray.  I love chickens!  I know how to open the door so if you have chickens, you will need to lock them up until you train me not to obsess over them.  I am scared of thunder and lightning but with reassurance I should be fine.  At first I didn’t like going into my crate but now my foster mom and dad just have to say “crate” and I go in.  I am an escape artist though, so you will need to ensure that both slides are locked.  Don’t worry, I didn’t tear up anything, just ate some bread that my mom left on the counter.  


I do know basic commands.  My foster parents tried putting an e-collar on for additional training.  They didn’t use the shock portion, just the noise.  I’m very nervous wearing it, so they only put it on one time.  I think my previous owners made me wear it a lot so now I want no part of it.  I’m very energetic.  I get along with other dogs but run over the little ones.  I guess I just don’t see them way down there.  My foster parents don’t have cats, so I’m not sure if I like them or not.  I haven’t been around young children but I think I would do good as I love people.  I’m neutered too, but don’t tell my girlfriend.  She still kisses me every morning.

Augustus is hw positive and has already had his hw treatment.  He will need 4 weeks of crate rest and then will be cleared for normal activity, and should have a negative heartworm test in 6 months.

Specific details

Breed German Shorthaired Pointer
Age Adult
Gender Male
Size Medium
Child Friendly? UNKNOWN
Pet Friendly Dogs
General Info Spayed/Neutered, Current Shots, Housetrained


San Antonio, Texas, United States